Martha Stewart 2.0

I love mornings when shit gets done. Boom boom boom. No distractions, no whining, no hurdles. Gives me time to make things like peach preserves and biscuits. Now finding the perfect time to sit down and enjoy it in peace…that’s another story.

So I’ll just hide in my matchbox bedroom and see what David Chang can teach me today. I started watching “The Mind of a Chef” the other day, and ever since David and the always sexy Mr. Bourdain have been teaching me the ways of the ramen noodle. I like food. Obviously. I get food, and food is what I know. The thought of formal culinary training has crossed my mind a time or two, but then I give my head a shake and think how silly it would be for me to pay someone to teach me about the grunt work I’ve been doing for the last decade. Maybe for now I’ll just look at dessert recipes. Or build my weekly menu. Or not.

Thank baby Jeebuz I’m only in camp for 3 weeks this time. My fuse has become frighteningly short these days, and there are far too many idiots walking around with matches. So my cozy little hidey hole has become my sanctuary to relax, read, watch movies and most importantly, research. I’ve become enthralled with the idea of creating my own brand. My own business. My own world. I want to be my own Martha. Gawd, I love Martha. Anywho, business cards, website design, portfolios and blog ideas seem to be taking up most of my spare time the last few months. And I’m okay with that.

I’ve fallen in love with it all but have no direction. I read blogs every day of girls who’ve created their own everything at such a young age and I am just green with envy. I want that. I want to inspire people. Help them. Make them laugh. Teach them how to bake, or how to style a dessert buffet….but for now I’ll just eat my biscuits and let David Chang mesmerize me with his ultimate broth theories.

peaches and biscuits

Leave a comment